Antelope Valley School District

Athletics

Athletics are currently suspended

When we do return, it will be in phases:

--Starting dates are determined by your specific sport. Please contact your coach(es) for more details.--

The AVUHSD in accordance with state and county guidance in regards to gatherings has adopted phases for our return to Athletics.

Phase 1 (non-contests)

● All coaches and students are given a Pre-Workout Screening prior to workout

● No gathering of more than 10 students at a time on any one field. Workouts conducted in “pods” of students with the same 5-10 students always working out together

● All workouts conducted outside

● Locker rooms will not be utilized

● There must be a minimum distance of six feet between each individual at all times

● Students must bring their own water bottle(s)

END OF QUARTER: Determines Eligibility for Athletes

End of Q1 - Oct. 9

End of Semester 1/Q2 - Dec 18

End Q3 - March 19

End of School Year/Semester 2/Q4 - June 3

Athletic Seasons (not applicable to 2020/2021 school year)
FALL SPORTS WINTER SPORTS SPRING SPORTS
Practice begins in August Practice begins in November Practice begins in February
Boys' and Girls' Cross Country Boys' and Girls' Basketball Baseball
Football Boys' and Girls' Soccer Softball
Girls' Tennis Wrestling Boys' Tennis
Girls' Volleyball   Boys' Golf
Girls' Golf   Boys' Volleyball
    Boys' and Girls' Swimming
    Boys' and Girls Track & Field

 

Prior to the date that practice begins, a coach may have tryouts for students who did not participate in the sport at Lancaster High School in the previous school year.

COACHES

Football - Anthony Coleman acoleman@avhsd.org room 309
Cross Country – Erik Purschke Xcountry Website epurschke@avhsd.org room 101
Girls Tennis – David Garcia Guerra dgguerra@avhsd.org room 404
Girls Volleyball – Jonathan Morgan jmorgan@avhsd.org room 110
Girls Golf – Derek Jordan-Luna drluna@avhsd.org room 317
Girls Basketball – Jessica Morrison morrisonj@lancsd.org Athletics Office
Boys Basketball – Sid Melvin smelvin@avhsd.org room 151
Girls Soccer – Rick Acuña racuna@avhsd.org PE
Boys Soccer – Alex Ludwig fussball45@hotmail.com Athletics Office
Wrestling – Jose Ramos Alvarez jramosalvarez@avhsd.org room 503
Baseball – David Fischenich dfischenich@avhsd.org PE
Boys Golf – Derek Jordan-Luna drluna@avhsd.org room 317
Softball – Kendel Zinn kendel_hewson_18@yahoo.com  Athletics Office
Swimming – Tara Londergan tlonderg@gmail.com Athletics Office
Boys Tennis – David Garcia Guerra dgguerra@avhsd.org room 404
Track and Field – Erik Purschke epurschke@avhsd.org room 101
Boys Volleyball – Alfredo Garcia alfgarcia@avhsd.org room 135